

postgraduate institute of european studies institut postuniversitaire d'études européennes

Madeleine Albright

patronne de promotion | promotion patron 2023-2024

2023-2024 COLLEGE OF EUROPE **CLOSING CEREMONY**

CLOSING CEREMONY, MADELEINE ALBRIGHT PROMOTION

ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-2024

FRIDAY 21 JUNE 2024, BRUGES CAMPUS

13h30 Students, prize sponsors and guests arrive and take their seats in the Concert Hall.

14h30 Mr Frank-Walter STEINMEIER, President of the Federal Republic of Germany,
Mr Dirk DE FAUW, Mayor of the City of Bruges, Mr Carl DECALUWE, Governor of the Province
of West-Flanders, Rector Federica MOGHERINI, Mr Herman VAN ROMPUY, President
of the Administrative Council, Directors of Studies (Prof. Inge GOVAERE, Prof. Sieglinde
GSTÖHL, Prof. Beatrice DUMONT, Prof. Michèle CHANG, Prof. Michael KAEDING), Ms Teona
LAVRELASHVILI, President of the Alumni Association, enter the stage and take their seats.



Musical interlude by choir

14h35 Welcome by Mr Herman VAN ROMPUY, President of the Administrative Council.

14h40 Rector Federica MOGHERINI welcomes Frank-Walter STEINMEIER, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, students, sponsors, guests and staff to the ceremony.

Rector Federica MOGHERINI invites Mr Dirk DE FAUW, Mayor of the City of Bruges, Mr Carl DECALUWE, Governor of the Province of West-Flanders, to address the audience and invites the audience to listen to a message from Vice-Rector Ewa OSNIECKA-TAMECKA.

Speech by Mr Dirk DE FAUW, Mayor of the City of Bruges. Speech by Mr Carl DECALUWE, Governor of the Province of West-Flanders. Vice-Rector Ewa OSNIECKA-TAMECKA delivers a message.

15h05



Musical interlude by Sophie Bonhert

"Polonaise in G Minor" by Frédéric Chopin

15h10 Rector Federica MOGHERINI invites the student representatives to the podium.

Speeches by Student Representatives: Ms Manon VIVIER-MERLE (POL), Mr Charlie WATSON (ECO), Ms Ghizlan REBBAH (IRD), Ms Tasifan MOHAMMAD (ECO), Ms Bettina JAMES (LAW), Natolin student representative (EIS)





Musical interlude by Ms Zelda Rosental & Mr Anton Sauder

"A change is gonna come" by Sam Cooke

15h35 Mr Anton SAUDER (MATA), student Representative of the Madeleine Albright Promotion, welcomes Mr Frank-Walter STEINMEIER, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, and invites him to address the audience

Speech by Mr Frank-Walter STEINMEIER, President of the Federal Republic of Germany.

16h10



Musical interlude by Mr Paul Wolf & Ms Joanna Mangiaterra

"Always remember us this way" by Lady Gaga

16h15 Rector Federica MOGHERINI thanks Mr Frank-Walter STEINMEIER, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, and invites Ms Teona LAVRELASHVILI, President of the Alumni Association, to address the audience.

Ms Teona LAVRELASHVILI, President of the Alumni Association (Falcone-Borsellino Promotion 2014-2015), welcomes the students into the family of the alumni.

16h20 Rector Federica MOGHERINI announces the beginning of the award section.

PRIZES PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR MICHAEL KAEDING, DIRECTOR OF STUDIES OF THE POL DEPARTMENT

- * Laureate of the POL Department.
- * European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations Prize for the best thesis on a subject related to health or public policies/regulation/trade impacting the pharmaceutical sector.
- * Sir Julian Priestley Memorial Awards for the best thesis on European policies and strategies/on European institutions.
- * EESC Award for the best thesis on the role of the actors of the civil society in the European decisionmaking process.
- * Energy Community Award for the best thesis on European energy governance.
- * European Court of Auditors audit thesis award for the best thesis on a topic related to the work of the European Court of Auditors.
- * European People's Party Group Award for the best thesis on the role and contribution of the European Parliament and its political groups to the European Integration Process.

- * Jacques Delors Prize for the best thesis on a subject relating to the European Project.
- * Prix de la Ville de Strasbourg pour le meilleur mémoire sur la démocratie et l'intégration européenne.
- * Transparency International EU Prize for the best thesis on the European Union's role in anticorruption efforts/tranparency, integrity and accountability of the EU's institutions.
- * MSD (Merck Sharp and Dohme) best thesis award in EU health policy in an ever-closer Union.



Musical interlude by Mr Simon Beeckmans & Mr Pietro Signo

"Posso Farcela" by Alex Baroni

PRIZES PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR SIEGLINDE GSTÖHL, DIRECTOR OF STUDIES OF THE IRD DEPARTMENT

- * Laureate of the IRD Department.
- * Goethe Institut IRD German Language Prize for the best student in the German language course.
- * Prix de Français RIE APFF (Richelieu international Europe Association pour la promotion de la francophonie en Flandre) pour le meilleur étudiant pour chaque cours de langue française.
- * Sergio Lopez Perona Memorial Prize for the best thesis on the EU's relations with the Middle East.
- * ENP Award for the best thesis on the European Neighbourhoud Policy (Bruges).
- * Georgian Institute of Politics (GIP) Award for the best thesis on the Eastern Partnership.
- * United Nations University-CRIS Prize for the best thesis on the EU and global governance.
- * UN award for the best thesis on "Europe, multilateralism and the UN".
- * FEAS award for the best thesis on EU external relations.



Musical interlude by Ms Antonia Wunnerlich

"I Giorni" by Ludovico Einaudi

PRIZES PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR INGE GOVAERE, DIRECTOR OF STUDIES OF THE LAW DEPARTMENT

- * Laureate of the LAW Department.
- * Rafael Sanz Rodriguez Memorial Prize for the best thesis in the Law Department.
- * BEST FRIENDS Award for the best thesis on competition law in the digital age.
- * Global Competition Law Center Prize for the best thesis on competition law and policy.

- * Linklaters Prize for the best thesis on the economic analysis of European law.
- * TÜSIAD Award for the best thesis on EU enlargement policies.
- * Buben Perea Molleda Memorial Prize for the best LAW-ELEA student.

PRIZES PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR BÉATRICE DUMONT, DIRECTOR OF STUDIES OF THE ECO DEPARTMENT

- * Laureate of the ECO Department.
- * LEXXION Verlagsgesellschaft award for the best thesis on EU State aid, EU public procurement or EU competition law.
- * Martin Sojer Memorial Prize for the best thesis on a topic related to economics and finances.
- * Prize of the 'Dipartimento Affari Europei della Presidenza del Consiglio dei Ministri' for the 5 best Italian students.

PRIZES PRESENTED BY PROFESSOR MICHELE CHANG, DIRECTOR OF STUDIES OF THE MATA PROGRAMME

- * Laureate of the MATA Programme.
- * JAN OLAF HAUSOTTER MEMORIAL prize for the best thesis on transatlantic affairs.

16h50 Speech and Closing of the Academic Year 2023-2024 by Rector Federica MOGHERINI.

Rector Federica MOGHERINI invites the audience to stand for the European Anthem.



16h55 End of the closing ceremony.





COLLEGE OF EUROPE BRUGES CAMPUS

COLEUROPE.EU

#CoEClosingAlbright
#CoEBruges #CoEMemories
Watch your shared moments at coleurope.eu/bruges/student-life

